Thursday, 17 October 2024

Habs: Early Season Prognosis 


I have watched parts of three of the Habs' first four games.

And guess what? THEY ARE WHO WE THOUGHT THEY WOULD BE. 

Here's the gawd's honest truth.

This team lacks the depth (especially with the Laine injury) and isn't defensively strong enough to compete for a Playoff spot. Not yet, so this will be another year of baby steps. Woo freaking hoo. 

Anyway. So ya, carrying on...

What I am excited about:

Lane Hutson! This kid is for real. So fun to watch when the puck is on his stick. He is tiny but doesn't seem to get knocked around, or intimidated like I had expected. My knock on him, for now, is that he sometimes gets lost in his own zone. If he can get more reliable on the defensive side of the puck, he'll be a superstar for many years to come. 

Kaiden Guhle! Dude is a stud. So reliable in his own end and showing a steadily improving offensive game. He is the Habs' number-one defenseman. The best we've seen on that side of the ice since Markov. Love him.

The first line! They seem to have picked up where they left off. They show up every game. Cole scores goals, Suzuki is one of the best two-way players in the game, and Slaf continues to improve. They aren't going to break any scoring records, but they will keep other teams honest. That's important.

Jake Evans! Nothing fancy about this guy. He just plays the right way. He kills penalties, wins faceoffs and, rarely makes a bad play. Solid. I have always been a fan.

Gally! Give the banged-up warrior his flowers. He still comes to play, every night. 

Some of the kids. Hutson was already mentioned, but it is also nice to see the progress being made by Kapanen, Heineman, and Dobes (who is in the AHL, for now). The future is bright in Montreal. Patience...

Sam Montembeault... maybe. The presumptive Habs' number-one goalie had a couple stellar starts and one mediocre start. I am still not convinced he is the guy, long term, but I am cheering for him. How is that for tempered excitement? 

And now the bad news...

What worries me:

Mike Matheson. I hope I am wrong, but I think last year's stellar stats were a fluke. He skates well, and can still get the puck down the ice, but he too often looks soft and lost in his own end. My fear is that he is another Jeff Petry. Not a horrible guy to have on your team, but not a true number-one option. 

Kirby Dach. Do I think he can be an impact player on this roster? Of course. I just live in constant fear that he is one play away from a catastrophic injury. Fingers crossed that he can play 70+ games this year. 

Josh Anderson. All the size and speed in the world, never any results. He is never going to put it all together, is he? Waivers anyone?

Joshua Roy. This was supposed to be his breakthrough year. I was expecting 20+ goals and lots of second-line minutes. He is in Laval, the rumours are that he has attitude problems and that he floated through camp thinking a roster position was his. Ouch. 

Cayden Primeau... maybe. He had a rough first start this year. The sample size is too small, yet, for me to pass final judgment. It looks like however, that he is on thin ice, what with the emergence of Dobes, and Fowler a year or so away.

Dare I mention Xhekaj? A fan favourite. The kid can chuck knuckles, but is that as far as it goes with this guy? He hasn't been horrible so far this year. Not too many mistakes in his own zone, but very little presence elsewhere. I am not convinced that he is an everyday NHL player. With Jordan Struble returning from injury, he and Justin Barron might have to split time in the press box.

There you have it. The good the bad and the ugly.

The Habs play the Kings tonight, a team that has been beaten by the Sens and the Buds (giving up a ton of goals in each game) in their last two games. Here is hoping that the Habs make their visit to Upper Canada even worse. 

Go Habs go! 




Photo credit: Charles William Pelletier (La Presse)




 The Problem With Leaf Fans Is...


... they're delusional.

 Oh and why are their team colours blue and white? When was the last time you saw a blue or white maple leaf?

 1967, wasn't that a few years before Confederation?

 Oh, and don't get me going about Toronto.

Hi, I am Joseph, the rational one of this motley hockey blog duo. You see I am the Habs fan. You know, the hockey team with the most Stanley Cups in NHL history, the team that magically qualified for the COVID Playoffs and made it to the Finals (representing the Western Conference), the team from Montreal, Canada's true hockey mecca. 

Right, I know, I know, trust me I KNOW, how bad the Habs have been going on 20 years now. Hell, they haven't won a Cup since '93. There have been spurts of excitement. Carey Price dragging a ragtag team of mostly 3rd liners deep into the Playoffs every few years. It hasn't been all bad, but I am beginning to understand the madness that it is to be a Leaf fan. Cheering for the Montreal Canadiens, for the last 30 years, has been akin to being trapped in a passive-aggressive relationship. Why are they so mean to us when we love them so much?

Shit, come to think of it, this sort of blind loyalty/delusion can be pegged on the fans of any Canadian NHL hockey team. No team from Canada has won the Cup since 1993. The majority of the Canadian teams have made it to the Finals (Nucks, Oilers, Flames, Sens, Habs... tee hee look who is missing) since '93, but it's really been a rough go of it for NHL hockey fans in the Great White North.

Who's to blame for this crime against hockey?

 The Canadian dollar?

 Taxes (geezus are we blaming Trudeau again)?

 The ghosts of the Forum?

 Harold Ballard?

 Complacent owners and fans?

 Gary Buttman... er Bettman?

 All the above? 

The larger question is why are we all still watching (if we can, what with streaming and local blackouts, but that's a rant for another day)? Is our love for the game stronger than the sting of constant failure? Are Gold Medals every 4 years, and World Junior Championships almost every year enough to fill the void left by no Cups?

I don't know. 

Ask David, the Leaf fan, he knows how to cope with never-ending disappointment, it's his superpower.





Habs: Early Season Prognosis  I have watched parts of three of the Habs' first four games. And guess what? THEY ARE WHO WE THOUGHT THEY ...